A woolly tale

Sheep outnumber people in Yorkshire by a fair number. The local sheep are called Swaledale and have distinctive black faces. Their wool is very coarse and they are a very hardy breed, a requirement for the exposed areas they live in.

2015-07-02 16.24.12

The wool is very thick but when knitted up it makes lovely warm garments.

2015-07-02 17.52.41  2015-07-03 14.06.45  2015-07-03 14.06.53

As I was walking around Keld I saw a farmer putting out some feed for his sheep. modern farmers use quad bikes now but for many years shepherds walked everywhere. Even though the farmer is a bit more upto date with his/her transport methods they still know exactly where their sheep are. This picture is of a farmer calling his sheep and they came running across the hillside when they heard his voice.

IMG_7083

Jesus uses analogies of the shepherd and sheep in many parables and stories when describing himself and God to people, and I was reminded of these two verses in particular as I watched the farmer call his sheep to him:

John 10:14 – “I am the good shepherd; I know my sheep and my sheep know me

John 10:27 – My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow me.
This is a good reminder that as we go about our daily lives,  God is always watching over us and knows each of us by name.
Just like the wool I described at the start which begins as a knotted and tangled mess, it can be drawn out, spun and knitted into something that is beautiful to look at and has a function. So we can be made strong by spinning ourselves together with God, He knows us all by name and has a job for us all to serve Him, so get knitting!
Leave a Reply

